May Day 2012

The 1st day of May.  May Day.  Mayday.  M’aidez.  Help me.

My mother left this world on the 1st of May.  I felt like a single engine plane, shot out of the sky.  “Mayday Mayday Mayday”  Isn’t that what they cry over the radio when the hard earth is rushing up at them, smoke streaming out behind, their lives in the balance?  Help me!  I’m going down.

Down I went.

Eight years ago today… and tomorrow… and uncounted days after.  But hitting the ground didn’t kill me.  Others did come to my aid.  I carried on.  With aching voids and “I’ll just call her… no,” and precious moments in my dreams when we met again, I carried on.

Now life has changed so much that I have few spaces left which she occupied.  There are memories, and habits, and stories I love to tell.  So much of her is in my heart  and spirit that will never be lost, but she was never here, where I am now.

Mother’s Day is coming soon.  By happy coincidence, I will spend it with one of my long time best friends.  Her mother left this world even before mine.  I think it might have been May.  It’s a hard time for us and I am glad we will be together.  Even as I was taking consolation against the Hallmark onslaught of forced sentimentality, I remembered:  she is a mother now herself.  Two boys will celebrate their Mother’s Day, too young to understand that the grandmother they never knew was her own Mother, that there will be an emptiness in her day.  And mine.

But we are the grown-ups now.  That is the way of life on earth.  We keep who we’ve been, our innocent selves, safely inside where the world cannot see.  We wear the strong shells of responsibility and independence.  We continue to build our lives, and for those who follow.  We carry on.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brian
    May 01, 2012 @ 20:24:58

    Well said, sis!!!

    Reply

  2. Kathy Holman
    May 01, 2012 @ 20:42:24

    I love the way you phrase things. You take twists I would not have thought of, but totally identify with when I read them. Every now and then I feel like a volcano and need to erupt with what is inside. I kind of wish it were possible to once and awhile throw thoughts that have been thought to death into a trash basket as on the computer, push the delete button, and have them permanently erased. Keep the lessons learned and remember the dangers, but eliminate the specifics that I can get bogged down in.

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    May 01, 2012 @ 23:32:21

    I saw on my calendar that it was 8 years that your mom has been gone and I can’t believe it! I just talked with your Dad last night and he said you were coming in today for a visit.

    Yep Mother’s Day sort of gets me down too and my Mom and I were so very close. Enjoy your visit with your Dad and be safe going around to visit your friends.
    Your ole cuz

    Reply

  4. h20diver
    May 01, 2012 @ 23:53:43

    Nicely written.

    Reply

  5. Laura
    May 02, 2012 @ 01:56:13

    Mayday indeed. Missing Little Peg along with you and thankful we can share an important day together.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: 2013.05.01 | I Call It My Art

Leave a Reply

LINKwithlove
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

