Skip to content

The Word for 2011

January 20, 2011

Last year, a friend suggested the practice of choosing a word for the year.  It was April before I settled on focus.  Her response, “Focus, indeed.”  But it’s been a good word.  While I am not yet a laser beam, much of the fog has cleared.  I’m blogging more often… regularly even.  My spiritual practice is more solid.  I know what dinner is going to be days in advance.  The couch catches me sleeping less often.  Art happens.  Frequently, I feel good.  So, yes, focus has worked well for me.  I won’t abandon it just because its official year is over.

But it is, in fact, a new year.  And because I gained focus last year, it was still December 2010 when I decided to abide in 2011.  Any reference to the Dude aside, I mean it to be settling in to live where I am, to Be Here Now, and also to be more mindful of that which I will or will not abide.  The second part contributing to the first, I will seek peace in my spaces.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sahitya permalink
    January 20, 2011 16:33

    Molly>>Love the new look of your space and esp. love your latest post. I think I am going to borrow/share ‘FOCUS’ from you for this year! Way to go girl! You inspire and motivate!

  2. Kathy Holman permalink
    January 20, 2011 16:58

    Dear Water Baby:
    I am in total awe of you. Thank you so much for sharing your posts with me. Over the last few months I have been trying to build the courage to make a public post of my inner thoughts the way a you have, and can’t quite do it. I am not sure what exactly I am afraid of, I am sure it is based in my insecurities about who I am. Following you in your journey is helping me get a handle on mine. I am still chewing on the idea of making time for art each day. I am still defining to myself what my art is. In the past I have not thought of time frames in terms of words, but of theme songs, or lines from songs. If I had to come up with a word for this year, I think it is strengthen.

    • January 27, 2011 18:17

      You can do it ~ I started out thinking only people who know and love me would read it. That makes it easier. As you gain confidence, you can invite others to read it, and if they don’t like it? So what? And when you get a comment like you just wrote to me, it blasts fear and doubt and anything any old hater might have said (and frankly, nobody has bothered to be negative to me… yet). Writing for the world certainly helps define oneself. It makes me careful about consistency in what I profess to value and believe. Talk about what you value and believe and enjoy and wonder about. And post pix of your gorgeous fiber art.

  3. Brad permalink
    January 27, 2011 17:57

    Molly, I really enjoy your posts. I remember you keeping a notebook of interesting quotes, roughly one million years ago in the Keys! Luckily for us, the interWeb was invented, so we can get a look into those notebooks and journals.

    This post has inspired me to choose a word for the year. In my case, I have chosen the word “pause,” which will hopefully remind me to take advantage of that space between stimulus and response. Hopefully, the people and animals I encounter this year will benefit from a response, instead of a customary reaction.

    • January 27, 2011 18:08

      Thanks, Doc! I like your word and the idea behind it: mindful response over habitual reaction.

  4. Amy permalink
    February 11, 2011 20:12

    Would it be bad if my word for the year was say….gravy? OK, instead it’s going to be TRUST.

Leave a Reply

