Skip to content

Two More Relatives!

April 1, 2012

This is an addendum by way of apology to my grandparents.  After the first Family of Choice  post, my father felt it ended somewhat abruptly, as though there was more to be said.  My cousin then asked, “How do Cecil and Si fit in?”  Oh my!  I am ashamed to say I forgot my maternal grandparents who never had children.  Let me put them back into our story.

Joe (remember my mother’s uncle?) had a sister, Kathryn, who married George.  They had one child, my mother.  Kathryn died young, before my mother finished college.  George (my granddaddy, except that I was not yet born) married a woman named Cecil.  In those days she might have been called a spinster, at least up until that point.  But sadly, George also died too young.  Then Cecil married a nice bachelor man, Simon.  So, the couple who, by steps as it were, became my mother’s “parents” never raised a child at all.  There is a bumper sticker that says, “If I knew how much fun grandchildren were going to be, I would have had them first.”  Not as foolish as it sounds after all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eleanore Gigandet permalink
    April 1, 2012 20:48

    I, too, felt that there was ‘something’ missing, but not sure what… I didn’t know that your mother’s parents had both died young, nor anything about the subsequent marriages. I do remember Mr and Mrs Jelen, though not very well. They hosted a few ‘teen’ parties at their home in Avalon, and they were always very nice to me. I’m sorry that they never had the opportunity to share in Peggy’s later life.

  2. April 4, 2012 20:23

    She told me about the parties, her daddy’s professional contribution ~hot dogs & hamburgers, heady stuff in rationing days. It always broke my heart that he was a veterinarian, a healer, who had to get by in hard times as a meat inspector.

Leave a Reply

