Skip to content

I Think I Might Be. . .

April 4, 2012

… an editor.  I’m so sorry.  I tried, I really tried.  My world has always come down to words.  Nothing makes sense until I can frame it into precisely the right words.  Conversation stops while I grope for exactly what I mean to say, then reach for the dictionary or and the thesaurus.  I must be understood.  That would make me an author, yes.  But there are no stories in my head screaming to be let out.  I joined a writers’ support group ~or rather, I’m committing voyeurism on a very cool literary undertaking~ and read the articles; how to begin well, use voice, create strong dialogue, drive the narrative.  It made me queasy, like whenever I have a job to do for which I’m not quite qualified.  There aren’t enough of the ‘givens’ already in place to make a story happen.

But the words!  I love the words.  And their tiny symbionts, punctuation.  It shoots me through the roof when people misuse and abuse them.  I fly to the aid of the benighted apostrophe, beaten into meaninglessness by the careless and ignorant.  I correct sandwich-boards on the sidewalk and menus at the table.  I make snarky and regrettable comments on FaceBook.  I have never been afraid of red pens.

This doesn’t mean I will stop writing.  I cannot.  It happens all the time.  But I accept the unlikelihood that I shall ever be a novelist.  I stalk Neil Gaiman because he is.  It fascinates me to watch the author in his native habitat.  There it is:  author is other, an exotic creature.  Hello, My name is Molly.  I am an editor.

Maybe someday someone will need to pay me to work this mother tongue.  Until then, I’ll keep at it for my own self.  Language is love, not fade away.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Eleanore Gigandet permalink
    April 4, 2012 20:40

    AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I, too, LOVE the art of language. That must be why I am such a fan of yours! And, I frequently correct the mistakes that my children make on Facebook, too, much to their despair. I’m a terrible speller, though, and usually have to write on a Word page, so I can see my mistakes before I publish them. Punctuation and spelling seem to be a lost cause, though, from what I see in email and Facebook.
    Please ‘stay the course’, Molly!

Leave a Reply

