Skip to content

Suitcases for Closets

October 15, 2012

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”                                                 – St. Augustine

Beginning with Paris last weekend, then Tanzania at the end of the month (safari for my birthday!), followed quickly by about eight weeks of Home Leave in the U.S., St. Augustine might find me to be a voracious reader.

Nuit Blanche was once again inspiring, but not in the usual way.  In past years, there have been plenty of works, displays, and installations that moved me to aspire toward such creativity.  But, whether it was the weather limiting things (poor planning on the artists’ part then; rain in Paris in October should come as a surprise to no one) or some combination of sloth and favoritism by the selection committee, I was instead left thinking, “My art is as good as some of this.  If I had the confidence to say as much, perhaps I could be taken just as seriously.”  So, I am encouraged to keep making good art and calling it so.  Here are a few photos of things worth seeing from that night:

GareAusterlitz: sound & light

 

Museum of Natural History: the art was nice, but the permanent display is stunning

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And two more Things I Love in Paris:

Le Boulanger des Invalides Jocteur & Hot ChocolateGareAusterlitz: must be Belle Époque, it is très belle

 

 

 

For the yin-yang balance of it all, after a night of believing that, yes, what I do ~therefore, to some extent, who I am~ could stand up with “real art,” I am prepared to go to Africa and be humbled.  It is big and poor and strong and fragile and dangerous and beautiful and bloody.  Life and death walk much more closely to all creatures there.  We will see so many imperiled things; individuals, species, ecosystems, cultures.  If, as good travel does, those experiences bore deeply into me, it may be some time before I write about it.  However, you may anticipate photos much sooner.  We Craig has a new camera, for which the manual intimidated me so badly that I’ve yet to get beyond the first diagram.  But that must mean it will take fantabulous photos.

Then Home, many homes and many friends, much family, and all the multicolored flavors of abundance, filling, and refueling to be had there.  I love living in Europe (or at least just south of it) and all the wonders to be found, the diversity of people and ideas, and it has changed me, certainly for the better.  But yes, Home with a capital H (Italian has no way to distinguish house from home, the very concept is difficult to explain to Italians, but I think I’ve discussed this before) will always be where the roads are wide, the markets super, and stuff just feels solid.

Because I am tickled to death for every one of you who read and enjoy my blog, I will try to maintain some semblance of regularity in the coming months.  Feel free to subscribe (button on the lower right) to I Call it My Art to save time checking for new posts.  And because I appreciate beyond mortal expression my incredible friends who take such fantastic care of Dragon Empress Kiwi Pu, House Panther in my absence, here is my humble shout out to the Black Cat Fan Club:

Kiwi says, "Thanks!"

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    October 15, 2012 17:28

    Hey, I like your “art”! Have a great trip and see a lion or two for me! Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

