Skip to content

The Word for 2013

January 7, 2013

Home: where the cat is, where the suitcases gather dust, where the toys and art supplies collect, a place for my stuff.  Not very satisfying, is it?  Taking off from SFO, it felt ever so much like leaving home, for the place that I live, 7,000 miles away.  I love San Francisco and people there.   Being in the City recharges my batteries, makes me want to make good art, and to be my brightest self.   I have a one week time-lock now before touching down in Pisa and Italy begins sucking the life force out of me again.  One week in the first place I ever knew as Home to form a plan to make that place more like home.

So, what makes a house a home?  Pardon the cliché.  (Incidentally, the Italian language and culture make no distinction between the two.  Must be nice.)  Certainly this varies by place, family, and individual.  But it’s really hard to assimilate somebody else’s feelings, so let’s talk about mine.  Comfort, warmth, functionality:  these are a few of my favorite things.

I’ve been collecting new clothes with intent toward being warm without bundling up like the Michelin man ~hello Uniqlo & your Heat Tech with lace on~ so that 1st, the Man can distinguish me from a pile of laundry, and 2nd, I feel more agile and mobile.  Which leads to both comfort and functionality.

Then I will be ready to take on the disaster which has accreted in my studio space.  Travel is great and fast turn-arounds are exciting, but that leads to piles of “I don’t need this now.  I’ll just deal with it when I get back.”  Repeated episodes of this behavior lead to gridlock; I’d like to use X, but Y is the way because Z is filling up the easy storage.  But organization breeds productivity and creativity spawns energy, so this is where I will start.  With lots of light.  And possibly the space heater because the only control we have over our radiators is to turn them off.  The Super decides when the boiler comes on ~not until November and seldom before 11:00 a.m. on any given day.  But when this space has been wrangled, I can give the Man some breathing room in the rest of the flat, and make a pretty mess myself, then close the door on the whole thing.  Done: 1 room that feels like home.

Next time: The kitchen, new gadgets & ideas, and cooking food to make us happy & healthy.  What until you see the rip-cord mini food processor a dear friend gave us!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    January 7, 2013 13:32

    Love your posts! Very much get the feeling…

Leave a Reply

