Skip to content

HomeLeave 2012 part V: Old Friends

January 9, 2013

When I returned to public school in 8th grade, my sister warned me, “Choose your friends wisely now.  The ones I made at Jones [Junior High] are the ones I’ve kept.”  She was right.  Phoebe, Julie, Marcie, Laura; these I’ve kept.  We’ve kept each other.

Carving out just enough time for dinner together while I’m in town reminded me of that place in my heart that dries out and atrophies living so far from these girls who have been in it forever.  There is a comfort like family in the friendships, but better for having no older or younger, no voice of experience or being the tag-a-long.  We went through it all together.  New friends can tell their stories and appreciate one another’s pasts, but it’s too late to add anyone else who will share my memories of growing up.  In every middle-aged face I see the teenagers we were.  I remember the laughter and the tears and all the Friday nights.  We knew each other as children and progressed together into womanhood.

And what women we’ve become!  I am so proud of my high school friends.  What they are doing with their lives is fantastic.  It’s hard to believe that in 8th grade, as a 13 year old, I could have judged character so well, and yet, these are the ones I’ve kept.

Thank you, girls.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    January 10, 2013 04:22

    Molly Sue, They were a fun bunch to have around and we enjoyed having them feel at home with us. Each one was always courteous and seemed part of the household whether it was lunch from school or the Friday night “all nights” which usually ran ’til noon Saturday whether you were around or not. I would love to hear that laughing and noise again. I’m glad you have stayed in touch and if you are tuned in “girls”, congratulations on your lives. You are still my “daughters” -Dad

    • January 10, 2013 05:13

      You were great parents to us all. Your endless welcome at Bembridge kept us out of mischief in ways we never suspected. M,P, and J do all send their best regards.

  2. Marcie permalink
    January 10, 2013 21:58

    We definitely send our regards! This brought a bit of a tear to my eye. Mentally I still think of myself as that teenager hanging out at the Flints on the weekends. Herb and Peg were Mom and Dad just as much as our own parents were and I still occasionally wear the necklace they gave me as a graduation gift. We were (and still are) a fun bunch and we (mostly) kept each other out of trouble. I definitely hope my kids can look back and say they had great friends like I did (do!) You all help keep me young. To this day I cannot hear “Thriller” on the radio without laughing and feeling like I’m 16.

  3. Laura permalink
    January 12, 2013 02:30

    How lucky are we!! I couldn’t agree with Marcie’s comments more. From great friends to an extra set of parents to a place to laugh uncontrollably (which we did many a time), how much more could anyone ask for? In fact, just thinking about the laughter makes me laugh. Small amounts of mischief with good friends 🙂 Love to all, Laura

  4. Laura permalink
    January 12, 2013 02:32

    The boys love the Max art…it is like having a celebrity dog!

Trackbacks

  1. Home, for What It’s Worth | I Call It My Art

Leave a Reply

