Skip to content

Seasonality & the Locavore

August 15, 2013

For an aspiring vegetarian & locavore with a ravenous sweet tooth, summer is a gluttonous time around here.  Produce is rigorously seasonal, so June, July, and August bring the greatest bounty of fruit.  There are peaches, figs, watermelon, plums, nectarines, cantaloupes, funny little summer pears, and cherries.  Oh my.  The cherries have been so good.  When they first turned up, they were smallish and I took my time selecting the ripest ones from the tumbling heap at the market stand.  Then, for a while, they were all ripe, dark & luscious, and huge, almost a mouthful every one.  The flavor became intense and consuming.  I would fill my bag with what seemed a reasonable, even excessive, amount.  They would disappear before they could go fuzzy.  That is huge.  Everything goes fuzzy here when one isn’t looking.  These juicy little bombs didn’t sit still even that long.  But the crescendo was quick.  Just this week, I’ve found the occasional cherry, looking as dark and shining as ever, to taste … watery, past its prime.  I’m afraid they are waning for another year.  There was a pumpkin at the produce stand this week, a sure sign fall is just around the corner.  And my memory is so weak that I don’t remember what comes after Cherry & Donut Peach Season, what I have to look forward to.  It’s like this every season.  I’m just beginning to miss whatever I’ve been living on for a month or so ~except brassica season; cauliflower, ugh~ when the new seasonal foods appear.  There is almost always something that makes me go, “Ooo, I love those and it’s been so long.”  So, so long, cherries.  See you next summer.  It has been goood.

Cherries.Aug2013

2 Comments leave one →
  1. wanda permalink
    August 16, 2013 17:45

    The dark plums are delicious.

  2. August 18, 2013 10:13

    Yes, they are. Didn’t see any this week. Now there are giant yellow ones. Not ripe yet, so I don’t know if they are good. And not a cherry to be seen at my regular stand!

Leave a Reply

