Skip to content

I Call It My Arts & Crafts?

March 10, 2014

This is just too neat to keep to myself.  After having researched into IKEA’s Glimma tea lights and finding the little cups to be aluminum (e.g. recyclable with the soda cans), I restocked.  €3.50 for 100?  Yes, please.  But I was short on interesting holders.

Glass jars!  Yes, fine, I tend to hoard them because they must still be good for something.  So, I lined up a few Japanese Rice Shake jars, one small Nutella jar-to-drinking-glass-jar, a glass yogurt container, and one real candle.  The real candle’s glass was frosted, like the bathroom window; the rest looked naked and exposed with their tea-light cups all hanging out for the whole world to see.  

Then I read somewhere that good old Elmer’s Glue makes a beautiful frosted finish for surfaces that won’t be washed.  Smear it on evenly, let it dry, touch up any shiny places you missed.  I tested a couple.  They looked good!  Fast and cheap, not exactly the reputation I strive for, but there is a certain truth in that advertising.

Washi TapeThen I came to posses several rolls of the wildly popular (Why can I not keep Kristin Chenoweth out of my head whenever I hear that word anymore? Get. Out.) washi tape.  It’s fun!  Also fast and cheap.  I am painfully frugal, have the attention span of a gnat, and very little storage space.  That means I refuse to spend much on decor items, but won’t commit to huge projects, and must be able to let them go without too much angst when the time comes.

Voilà!

candles.night

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Eleanore Gigandet permalink
    March 10, 2014 18:34

    BEAUTIFUL!!!

    • March 10, 2014 18:44

      Thank you! It’s very satisfying 🙂 There may be another Washi post, too. I suspect it’s available all over now. Picked up mine at JoAnn Fabric last time I was in the States. Seems to be a big thing in the crafty blogosphere.

      • Dad permalink
        March 10, 2014 22:55

        Clever ideas! Might be a cottage business.

Leave a Reply

