Skip to content

These Fragile Shells

October 30, 2014
tags:

(Hey travel fans~ Not to worry, Rwanda is still percolating in my brain and at least two more InBlogress files.  But today is a somber day and I need to think about it out loud.)

The wife of a team mate in California, I didn’t know her well back then.  But after we left, there was FaceBook and we became Friends.  We grew to know each other a little better.  I watched how Keri lived her life, raised her daughters, loved her man.  She was a realist, but always kept a positive outlook on the world.  She was tough and fiery and loyal.  And a year younger than I am.

My tribe is reeling.  How do you post something funny about your kids on FaceBook one night, go to bed, wake up feeling pretty bad, then just slip out of this world?  I wouldn’t dream of intruding on their grief, but Keri did have a shining place in my life.  I know she wouldn’t go down without a fight.  She’s beaten health crises before.  There are no answers to “why?”  Why her?  Why now?  But something in me still cries out “How?”  How does a person go from doing all the things, being fully engaged in life, to … to … stillness, absence?  It’s one of those things, too big, too horrible, to fit inside the moment it happens.

The clichés are there; tell those you love that you do, life is uncertain, live every day as though it were your last.  They are fine.  But I’m going to miss you, Keri.  I want to honor your life better than that.  You were an example of how to give, how to serve, how to love.  There was certainly more I would have learned from you.  But I’ll take what I have, remember you, and try a little harder.

Rest in peace, my friend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Eleanore Ranta Gigandet permalink
    October 30, 2014 18:57

    You just described the way I felt when your mother left this world so suddenly… You are grieving for Keri and I am grieving anew for Peggy… my friend of so long ago.

    • October 31, 2014 10:15

      Thank you, Ellie. It’s mysterious how someone, when suddenly they are no more, can leave a hole in the world we feel no matter how far away we are or how seldom we saw them. It’s a space no one else can fill, a little shadow in our hearts that stays with us forever.

  2. October 31, 2014 16:25

    Molly Sue – thank you for your words, Keri was such a amazing person. I so agree with you that her life is a lesson for all of us to learn from, we can all be more supportive of others even when they don’t know they need it, love OUT LOUD, be the light. Keri was so good at all of this, and like you I grew to know her more on Facebook and grew to really love and cherish her. I knew that if I was having a good or bad day, there would be support for Keri. I will truly miss her.

Leave a Reply

