Skip to content

Surroundings

December 15, 2014

Into a sea of friendly faces, I walked through the door.  So many old friends I see too seldom, we are a tribe of waterbabies brought together by the game, but united by a common spirit.  It was the annual Christmas party, which usually brings some out of woodwork who have drifted out of the pool, or the area or the country.  Old friends… with histories and stories and backstories, friend/ships ~if you will allow me, gentle reader, to wax corny~ that sail through years, crossing paths occasionally, but sometimes tying up unexpectedly in the same harbor for a night.  Two of my oldest friends in this community were there before my eyes, quite out of the wild blue yonder, icing on the chocolate cake.  

I find dear friends where I live now, but they arrive and depart quickly, uncertain when or if we’ll meet again, connected by a brief time in a special place.  But these people are the ones I don’t doubt I’ll ever see again, even when it is too long.  So, after all the merry was made, hugs and kisses shared, and everyone had found their beds, I lay awake with so many good times replaying on the back of my skull.  The laughter and shenanigans and adventures and competition and support in hard times were all there, in faces that light up my own whenever the wind and the tides wash us up together again.  Thank you my friends, my tribe, for welcoming me home with open arms every time and without reservation.

(Sorry for the further diversion, Jimm.  I know you’ll understand.  Wish you had been there, too.  The gorillas are coming.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. dorothy gray permalink
    December 15, 2014 08:18

    Beautifully said….so wonderful to see you!

    • December 15, 2014 17:29

      Thank you! Tell me when you have that Grande Tour 2015 planned. We’d love to show you around.

  2. jimm permalink
    December 15, 2014 10:21

    no hurry….well, ok, a LITTLE hurry would be nice, or at least something short of an interminable delay; i did read the 15 best “under the radar places to visit for 2015” and both “virunga” (northern rwanda) and ulan batar(!!) made the list, so i am entering 2015 as one of the coolest guys on the planet…at least in my mind, but then again, that’s how i entered 2014….and 2013 come to think of it, and……

Leave a Reply

